top of page

AM I A DEPENDAPOTAMUS? pt. 1

“Dependapotamus: Traditionally a service-members dependent who is a "stay at home mom" that doesn't do a damn thing all day besides sitting on the couch looking remarkably similar to jabba the hut leaching off of military benefits and eating anything that gets too close.” (Urban Dictionary, http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=dependapotamus)

If you are in the military or affiliated with anyone in the military, chances are that you have heard someone use this word. If you’re not, I went ahead and included a lovely definition for you at the top of this post.

I’ve heard the word used before, but I never really knew what people considered a “dependapotamus”. When I looked up the definition, I was really stunned. It made me question everything I do all day.

Am I a “dependapotamus”?

I am a stay at home mom. I’m pretty much at home all day long, all week long. And I’ll be honest. There are sometimes that Netflix will take precedence over washing a cup or dusting a bookshelf. There are sometimes that I will sit with the laptop and write for a couple of hours, but does that mean that I’m a “dependapotamus” that leaching off the benefits of having a military spouse?

Is that all it takes to be considered and mocked as a "dependapotamus"?

TAGS

No tags yet.
bottom of page